Part 2, Project 4, Exercise 3, Review

For this exercise I have to review my previous 2 pieces of work and make note in response to the questions in bold.

What aspects of each drawing were successful, and what did you have problems with?

The line drawing of the cup and Strawberries went well in composition, I liked the blue colour as I felt this suited the subject matter and reminded me of Willow pattern. To a large part the line drawing portrayed the shape and pattern well however because the leaves were deeply textured I think they needed a little tone to show the deep crevasses within the leaf. I kept the background simple and think this worked well as it didn’t detract from the subject matter.

The second drawing a still life in tone using colour, was of an Urn called a Rumtopf. I was to work quick, which is not my thing I have a tendency to put in a lot of detail so didn’t correct any mistakes in perspective, however I think the contrast and tone to the most part went well, especially as this was to be a spontaneous energetic drawing. It was the checks on the Table Cloth I had trouble with using this method. The shadow was placed with a side stroke of my pastel but It wiped out the pink checks which I couldn’t get to show well. In reality I would have liked to spend more time correcting this but thought it would lose the spontaneous look.

I didn’t redo this picture to correct any of this as I thought I would try to put too much detail in the drawing and lose the spontaneous look.

Having said all of that I think the Urn looks impressive within the picture and fits the brief reasonably well.
Did you manage to get a sense of depth in your drawings? What elements of the drawings and still life groupings helped to create that sense?
Yes I think both did, though the Teacup more so, as there were other subjects in the picture which were placed in the foreground moving to the rear, which give the eye something to follow from front to back. The contours and shade do however give both pictures depth.

What difficulties were created by being restricted to line or tone?
I think with both line and tone alone created difficulties portraying the subject accurately. Line on its own gives restrictions on texture and depth. With just tone there for me is a lack of accuracy within the perspective.

How did using colour affect your working method?
I don’t think it did on this occasion as it is still about shade and light, or using darker colours for the shadows and light for the highlights. The main affect I found was the approach to using just line, or using just colour.

Leave a Reply

