Part 2 Project 5, Exercise 2 Tonal study of bones and shells

For this I was to find a subject and choose a media for conveying its characteristics. Notice the textures and how they catch the light and think how to convey the tonal gradations from lightest to darkest.  I chose my dogs Antler bone she wasn’t best pleased but it had a good texture and shape, which made it interesting to draw. I feel I did well showing the objects grain and texture through shading and mark making. Graphite is my favourite medium so I chose to draw the entire subject in Graphite, starting out with light lines and darkening them in 3 layers. I dont think there is anything I would change with this, however sometimes over time I will see something I want to alter which didn’t stand out at the time.

bone 4 uni_edited-1

Leave a Reply

