Part 2, Project 5, Exercise 4 Using source material

I wasn’t entirely sure what this exercise was about, however I went for a loose pastel drawing of a horse skeleton. The exercise was to start with a found image, but then build on it to create something more personal. Find scientific and biological sources for animal anatomy in libraries and online looking for images that clearly show the mechanics of different animals’ bodies. Copy interesting images loosely, but make them into something more than a replica of someone else work, by adding my own touches. Whilst thinking about the parts that make up the whole and about movement and stillness, emotion and detachment. Using composition skill to position the subject within a believable scenario or space and keep in mind all that has been previously learnt.
I had just been to the Isle of Wight and had seen the statue of the real War Horse Warrior. I had no idea that so many horses gave their lives in the war and was horrified that so many had. It was with this in mind after drawing a few scientific drawings I decided to do a loose drawing of a horse skeleton in a war time situation using the scientific picture of a horse skeleton I found online from a page called ClipArtetc. The dogs head came from a book called Anatomy of the Dog. The two horse sketches with muscle came from Animal Painting and Anatomy, which had some beautiful drawings of animals and their anatomy. The anatomy of the coral polyp was from online.
I enjoyed this Exercise as it gave me freedom to use my imagination. I used Charcoal and Chalk Pastel and Pencils.  I like my setting, but felt it could do with refinement. I tried to use the colour of the paper as part of my drawing but am not sure it worked, as on close inspection it can be seen and doesn’t blend and could have done with a little more work. Neither does the distance work well and could do with more work. It gives the picture an unfinished look, but this could be improved with development.
I do like the setting and the emotion shown in the picture and in future may like to expand on my drawing turning it into a final piece. I feel I covered nearly all the criteria asked but there is room for improvement as mentioned above.

Research used for my scientific drawings.
Calderon, W. F. (1975). Animal Painting And Anatomy. In W. F. Calderon. Toronto: General Publishing Company Ltd, .
Malcolm E Miller, D. M. (1965). Anatomy Of The Dog. W. B. Saunders Company.
student), S. S. (2015, September Thurs). Lophelia pertusa (Linneaus, 1758). Retrieved from http://www.stroembegienss.se cold -water coral research in sweden: http://www.stroembergiensis.se/lophelia_eng.html
Whitney, W. D. (2015, September Thursday). Horse Skeleton. Retrieved from ClipArtetc: http://etc.usf.edu/clipart/61300/61360/61360_horse_skelet.htm

horse in war uni144

horse in war uni146

horse in war uni147

Leave a Reply

