Assignment 2, Assesment Criteria Points. Self Assessment

 

 

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skills.

 

Things are starting to slot in and I feel I am getting to grasps with self-assessment. I think my visual skills are getting better and I have used a variety of media. Technique is slower to come, it is hard to change from an illustrative style to loser form and I have difficulty knowing where I am going. I think my observation and visual awareness is improving but composition within the exercises can be a struggle when done at speed. I have begun to enjoy mixed media more. I really enjoyed the marker and dip pen exercise.

Quality of outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas.

 

|I felt I was stuck between and rock and a hard place with this as In my effort to be looser I messed the composition. I liked the portrayal of the ducks but it didn’t work as well as I wanted. The water was drawn in neither one nor the other style. I felt confused as to what was wanted from me. I did however enjoy using a paper I had never used before and found the detail was so easy to get with just a few strokes of media. The ducks came out well without the need to draw every feather. I think I communicated my ideas well.

Demonstration of creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice.

 

I feel I was creative with design, however I am not sure it worked. I experimented with paper and application. For me this was not the detailed work I am used to doing. I think maybe I should do more preliminary work, but I felt so under pressure with time in Part 2 that the anxiety passed over into the Assignment. I still haven’t developed a personal voice as the moving away from the very measured style I have used for years is difficult and I believe I need to do in order I can grow and improve. I do need to experiment more, but it was difficult given time constraints and the huge amount of work needed in Part 2.

Context reflection – research, critical thinking (learning logs and, at second and third level, critical reviews and essays.

I still enjoy writing my learning log, but haven’t mastered knowing how to condense my writings. My dyslexia obviously hasn’t gone away, and I am always re-writing work. I do feel my critical thinking is getting better and I am beginning to feel comfortable with my need to do better. Having said that I have no other problems with the learning log and enjoy the focus it gives you with your work.

Leave a Reply

