Part 3, Project 2, Exercise 360° studies

For this Exercise I had to choose and expansive landscape where I had an open view in all directions. Start one drawing North using a viewfinder to find a focal point, and complete a 15 minute drawing, then turn to face West, South, and East to do the same. It was an expansive landscape to a point, but due to bad weather this winter I could not get high enough up the hill in the allotted time in order to get a clear view on all 4 sides. It has done nothing but rain for weeks so I grabbed what I could with the time and window of weather I had.

360-1029

The above drawing was North and took me longer than 15 minuets as I could not get the extension correct. It was difficult as these houses were obscured by a hill and what we are seeing are the higher parts of the houses. It was sunny and about 2pm.

360-2030 Next I turned East there was a sheep in front of the scene with other sheep lower down the hill leading to a wooded area. The sheep’s head looks more like a cow, but I am not the best at quick sketching. One thing I was trying out on this exercise is a solid stick of graphite I used it for the highlights in the drawing and have decided to carry it around with me on field sketches as it worked well. I feel the lack of tone didn’t give depth to the picture, but it was a pleasing picturesque view which I enjoyed drawing.

360-4032

This view was to the South and was a path leading up the hill. Unfortunately because of its incline it cut out a lot of the view but it had character.

360-3031

 

This view is to the West doesn’t look extensive from this drawing and the trees at the back obscure any further view.

Although my views in a couple of the directions are not picturesque I can see that wherever you are, there will always be something different to draw if you change your position or viewpoint. I could, if not drawing landscapes have drawn several different pictures from that one position. I did a quick sketch of a sheep when I got home. I have been looking at various artists and liked the way their drawings were done with minimal colour with an impressionistic tonal background. Although I could do with some practice at achieving a more formed subject by subtle shade, experiment with application of media, and give an impression of surroundings, I really like the picture and want to experiment more. I used soft pastel for the background and wet it moving the pigments around to form and interesting look. Then I used graphite and coloured pencils to draw the sheep. The smooth paper of my sketchbook would not give more tone, so I will have to practice on other types of paper to see if I can achieve the look I am trying to get.

 

sheep 360033

Photos of area drawn.

360 pictures

Leave a Reply

