Assignment 3, Assessment criteria points

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and computational skills

Through Part 3 I have shown my continuing of development in skills and techniques. I have tried various new media which are beginning to stretch my ability, enjoying the process and challenge of using new artist materials. My visual awareness is getting better and composition has most definitely shown improvement as I am now placing my subjects on the paper more accurately.

Quality of outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner,discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas.

I think this has been reasonable, there have been a couple of times where my belief is I could have applied the media better, my knowledge is growing and now everything is beginning to get routine, I have been able to apply some of the knowledge I now have, as in the buildings limited pallet sketch. I followed the golden mean and attempted to produce a piece of work which covered everything I had learnt about depth. using tone, and size. I feel communication of ideas is now beginning to get easier and I have started to find my inner voice to assess my work, which I feel has come with experience.

Demonstration of creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice.

I have surprised myself in Part 3,  growing to like a form of art which is much more to do with impression, than the photo real art I usually do. I have tried to apply this by experimenting within my drawing.  Having achieved this by moving away from the sharpness of an object, using tone to  give the eye a view which it can interpret, rather than see a realistic form. I have experimented using various media within this Part, what I dont do and I need to, is more preliminary sketches before  a particular piece of work. This would allow me to collate all information to hand when I come to produce my drawing. At the moment I feel I am still using photographs too much.  Plus across Part 3, I realised photographs are a good tool to use, but work from them lacks the life and detail of a drawing done from sketches direct from the subject. I have been lucky, things I have drawn were local and I could go back and gather further information when needed. However if I was to work further afield I would have come unstuck.

Content reflection – research, critical thinking (learning logs and , at second and third leverl, critical reviews and essays)

I feel I have started to use my learning log as a tool to expand  learning, research and critical thinking. I know previously I have to an extent, but now I have started to feel the benefit of using my log and the way it pushes myself  to reflect on my work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

