Part 4, Research point effect of foreshortening

mum 2

For this Research I was to try lounging on a couch with a mirror facing me from the foot end, then draw my body as I saw it in the mirror. My feet should be huge in comparison with the rest of my body. This effect is called foreshortening I then had to find any images were an artist has used foreshortening to create a particular effect.

Jenny Saville is a good one for this as she uses foreshortening in her figure drawing which accentuates the flesh.  This can be seen well in this painting called Plan.

https://www.oneonta.edu/faculty/farberas/arth/arth200/Body/saville.html

Also there is the Grid reference illustration published by Albrecht Durer where he depicts someone looking through a string grid and transferring what they see to a drawing surface which had a grid on.

https://www.oneonta.edu/faculty/farberas/arth/arth200/durer_artistdrawingnude.html

Leave a Reply

