Part 4, Project 6, Exercise 1 Facial Features

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Look at people (including yourself) in the flesh, in magazines, TV and other places and study the individual features. Practice drawing in my sketchbook a couple of pages per feature – different kinds of nose, eyes, ears, lips, chin, hair, eyebrows etc. If this helps use an enlarging grid to scale up a found image. Bear in mind that tonal variation, hatching an curved lines help model the form of facial features in the same way as they do in still life or landscape.

When you feel fairly confident draw an entire face.

I was not to worry if my lines and marks overlap and become untidy, and shouldn’t erase don’t erase mistakes. The workings and reworking’s are part of the thinking process and show are to show my tutor that I understand where you I went wrong and worked to put it right.

I was on holiday when I did most of this and had nearly run out of space in my carried sketchbook, so used loose sheets for most of it, although it is difficult to keep tabs on how much work is put into this when I am drawing people all the time. I used various media in my drawings and tried two sketches of a full face one in the main a line drawing of Miss Marple (Joan Hickson). The second was a version of my daughter who was posing with expression for a photo she was having done. This was drawn using charcoal and largely a tonal piece.

I have drawn all at a relatively quick pace  as I know this is one aspect of drawing I am not good at. I don’t seem to have a brain that can compute quickly, but am pleasantly surprised my speed/accuracy ratio is getting better.  This is a  good exercise to show the difference in shape, tone, size of a humans features. I feel now that I would like to try and draw faces with less line and more tone. I never thought I would be inspired as humans have never been my chosen topic of drawing, but I am enjoying Part 4, and have treated myself to a book called, Figure Drawing For All It’s worth by Andrew Loomis.

2 thoughts on “Part 4, Project 6, Exercise 1 Facial Features

    1. Thanks, I am beginning to feel a little better at working at speed. I have difficulty measuring everything panic and lose my line, but all the practice with 1,2, and 5min drawings are helping, though I dont think I am ever going to win any prizes for speed drawing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

