Part 4, Assignment 4, Assessment Criteria

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness design and compositional skills.

I have no doubt my skills as an artist have improved, now I am beginning to feel I am able to leave the photorealistic work and branch out, loosen up and enjoy trying new techniques. Yes I am still apt to work tight but I can see I am beginning to get a style. My observation skills are getting much better and I am finding with the quick sketching it has increased my visual awareness. Compositional skills are still improving, but I do have room for improvement. Sometimes because I am following an exercise/assignment criteria I feel composition is lost when trying to meet the requests.

Quality of outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas.

I always feel with the course, quality is overlooked in the need to work under time pressures. There is with the course a huge amount of work and I sometimes feel I am learning without the time to apply what I have learnt. I believe I communicate my ideas well and can judge for myself where I am going wrong and my use of different media well, is growing. I have a new favourite in Conte sticks, I have never been able to use them with ability, but I am beginning to learn how.

Demonstration of creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice.

I feel I am slowly gaining my voice, well I feel like I am stood at the top of a mountain gathering the nerve to go down the other side.  I have drawn a huge amount of sketches from real life for Part 4, and have used photographs a lot less, more a support than a tool to lean on. I have experimented with media and material. Not a great deal with found material for my assignment pieces, though I do doodle on anything that comes to hand when the urge gets me. This time I have attached some of my doodles to my sketchbook, as I often draw and then throw them away.  I am finally beginning to feel like I am using my sketchbooks better, and although the learning log is time consuming, I think it helps fasten your thoughts, experiments, and learning into your memory.

Context reflection – research, critical thinking (learning log)

I think the learning log, although a great time consumer, is an essential tool, I am surprised at how much it plays a part in research, remembering and analysing the practical work. It makes me realise where I go wrong with an exercise, how I could do better, remember what I have achieved, and what went well. With reflection I could probably do to get into the habit of analysing some sketches better in my sketchbook as well.

Leave a Reply

