Assignment 5, studies of deer

deer-sketch-for-blog-1

Having decided to draw deer I have found two areas where I can draw them in the wild. I was amazed at Dunham Massey how near I could get and how obliging the deer are.  I found it easier than the first deer I drew which were in a field near to where I live, and didn’t like their portraits being done.  The top picture was drawn using pastel and Conte sticks, I have not decided on media, or  if I am using any colour in my final drawing, so I wanted to experiment with a limited palette the drawing was done from a photograph and my sketches. I have sketched two different types of deer, which will explain the difference in their appearance. The Fallow are bigger, the Roe are daintier.

Leave a Reply

