Part 5, Assignment 5, Assessment Criteria

 

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness design and compositional skills.

Over the course I have no doubt all skills have improved. I am starting to manage to put what I am learning into practice. I still want to push my work to the more detailed stage and I lack speed in application. My visual skills are getting better and I am gaining an eye into being aware of shapes both positive and negative. My compositional skills feel better and I am trying to put into practice, what has been learnt through Drawing 1.

Quality of outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas.

As with Part 4 I still feel quality is second to time, maybe as I become more confident with my work this will get better, but even as a child it was noticed I couldn’t work well at speed. With Assignment 5 I found it a little easier applying what I had learnt, maybe because I had to use this in developing my own ideas, rather than worrying about achieving a set criteria. Communicating my ideas is becoming second nature now, as is the ability to judge where I am going wrong, however I am sure there are areas I still need help with.

Demonstration of creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice.

This is the fun part, only now am I beginning to feel I have gained enough knowledge of working to this level to now concentrate on being creative and using my imagination. I think the course can be overwhelming when you haven’t worked at this level before. You have to learn what is expected, how it’s applied and what to apply before you can actually begin to settle into what is expected from you. I have seen a difference looking at those who have done an art degree before, as they already know what is expected of them.

My personal voice is beginning but I have yet to get there, though I am now able to use artistic licence when needed in order to improve my picture. I have no doubts of the importance of drawing things in the field. It is so important in the process of being able to invent and use your imagination. To imagine you first need to know your image intimately.

Context reflection – research, critical thinking (learning log)

I love my learning log, and it really makes me think about what I am doing, why I am doing it, and what I want to achieve. It is hugely important to me and helps with my learning process. I always like to draw then put the drawing up so I can look at it for a day or two to see where it can be improved. Thinking what I have done well, or where I have gone wrong and the putting it up on the log, is so important, it gives me the ability not to make the same mistake again.

Writing down the research again makes me learn more about what I am reading, the act of writing it down means I have to have learnt about the subject in order to know what to write. Where I am falling down a little is my Gallery and Museum visits, I often don’t analyse pictures, I get caught up in the enjoyment of looking then describing what I have seen is difficult. So in future I will try and take notes at the time.

Leave a Reply

